Stamp Review Crew | Art Gallery

Hello! Stamp Review Crew is setting a record pace in 2021! Our third week in a row, with a bonus Sale-A-Bration hop keeping us busy last week! Why not!, when there’s so many great sets to choose from!

Today’s set is Art Gallery and the coordinating Floral Gallery Dies. This bundle is part of the Fine Art Floral suite, so there’s also DSP, Specialty Acetate, ribbon, embossing folder and Gilded Leafing Embellishment to enjoy as well!

I have seen so many gorgeous cards made with this bundle. It didn’t actually make the cut on my first order, but I have since been convinced by the creative genius of others that it really is a lovely bundle that I needed to own!

This card is a swing card in a landscape orientation. I’ve made this style of card before (back in 2016 – visit the archives here!) and thought it was time for a revisit. Changing one feature of a fold you know and love, has the potential to make it fresh again – which is exactly what happened for me with this style.

This card starts with a fold standard card base (half of an A4 sheet here in Australia), which I stamped all over with one of the Art Gallery stamps. I used So Saffron ink on Bumblebee cardstock to get a watermark effect where the ink wasn’t too bold against the card.

Art Gallery | kelly kent

The middle of the card front was just using a die from the Hippo & Friends Dies. It is the perfect size and shape to fit the ‘just want to say’ words in the Floral Gallery Dies. To help stick this on, I used Adhesive Sheets on the white cardstock before cutting it. This means no messy glue when applying to the front of your card. It was also handy to use the die negative to line up the words!

Placing the die cut back into the space, I stuck it to the folding mechanism in the middle of the card so that it sits in place when closed, but when you open the card, it remains in the middle while the rest of the card front opens.

Art Gallery | kelly kent

The folding mechanism is the length of an A4 page (trimmed ever so slightly to 11-5/8″) x 5-5/8″and then scored at 3-7/8″ from each end (along the long side). This will give you three even panels which you can concertina fold. Adhere the bottom panel to the card base so that it folds out towards the top of the card.

Art Gallery | kelly kent

I decorated the middle of the card with a stamped flower & leaf using the Art Gallery stamp set & Floral Gallery Dies. The flower is in Poppy Parade ink and the leaf is in Shaded Spruce ink.

Art Gallery | kelly kent

The Gilded Leafing Embellishment on this card looks amazing! To achieve this look, I stamped and die cut the flower, stamped the accent in Versamark, applied Heat & Stick Powder and then melted with my Heat Tool. While the powder was still tacky, I dropped it into my tub of gold leaf and then rubbed over it with a Stamping Sponge to remove the excess. I have my gold leaf in a large container so that I can use it and keep all the flyaways contained in one space.

Art Gallery | kelly kent

The sentiment for this card is a simple ‘happy birthday’ in Early Espresso ink on Petal Pink cardstock, cut with the cute scallop rectangle die from the Floral Gallery Dies. I’m always sold on a stamp set with a great birthday option!

So, now that I own this stamp set, I can’t wait to see what the crew do with it. There’s always so many ideas in these hops!!! You can see the full list of designers joining in for this hop by clicking here and visiting the main Stamp Review Crew blog.

Next up you’re heading to the Northern Hemisphere to visit Betty Traciak and her fabulous Art Gallery…

Thanks for joining us. Have a wonderful week!

kelly kent | mypapercraftjourney.com

3 thoughts on “Stamp Review Crew | Art Gallery

  1. Kelly, I love that you revisited such a fun fold. It makes the birthday surprise so much sweeter. Love the bold colors you chose.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.