Lockdown | what cardmaking?

Parts of my state of Australia went into lockdown a week ago in response to a virus outbreak. It would seem like lockdown would be the perfect opportunity to get lots of cardmaking done – but the reality of my week was a little different. With the Mini Papercrafts home for the 9th week of school holidays, day care closed for the week and my working days switched to working from home, there always seemed to be something other than the craft table that demanded my attention. On the plus side, we enjoyed family walks, had time for some baking and I got to experience working from home for my job as a paediatric Speech Pathologist.

Knowing that my team were all in lockdown in their respective locations, we were lucky enough for lots of us to be free for a Zoom team meeting on Thursday night. We chatted lockdown (of course), caught up on how everyone was going, talked Stampin’ Up! and then crafted while chatting some more. The brief was to create something you could send to a teamie.

I had the Pretty Perennials bundle on my craft table from my ice cream girl creation last week (you can see that here) and a Pretty Perennials stamping session earlier in the week before lockdown hit – I’ll share those projects with you tomorrow.

So, I knew I wanted to use the Pretty Perennials bundle again (I think it’s my mini catalogue favourite at the moment – or at least one of several favourites). Being on a meeting length time frame to make something, I opened the catalogue for layout inspiration and chose the DSP & banner combination on page 8 of the mini catalogue.

Pretty Perennials | kelly kent

For the DSP background, I used the Flower & Field DSP which you can add to your order for {FREE} during February once the total before shipping reaches $90. The blue and yellow of the DSP led me to the colour choices for the banner and other DSP strip.

Pretty Perennials | kelly kent

For the flowers, I wanted to add some more colour, so I used Blushing Bride for the large flower and then coordinated in the yellow (Bumblebee) and blue (Pool Party) for the other flowers.

Pretty Perennials | kelly kent

The flowers in this set are gorgeous, but it’s the ‘happy’ that keeps drawing me back. Unfortunately there’s no die for it, so it’s fussy cutting therapy for that one, but it looks so cute on the card that I’m happy to take the time to cut it out. The ‘sending’ and ‘mail’ – in a font that I just adore – are white heat embossed on Just Jade cardstock.

There’s everything to love about this stamp set and coordinating dies. I think I’ll keep it on my desk for a little longer before moving on to something else!

kelly kent | mypapercraftjourney.com

One thought on “Lockdown | what cardmaking?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.