Just Add Ink #465 | The Season

We’ve got a fun challenge for you this week at Just Add Ink.  It might stretch your creative boundaries – but you can do it!  We’re adding ‘The Season’ – as in the weather.  Be inspired by the season you’re currently experiencing or your favourite season.

Image may contain: text

Here in the south west of Australia, it’s winter.  Some days that means clouds, rain, wind and storms.  But other days that means sunshine and magical weather.  We are very lucky.  Today we were blessed with lots of sunshine!

When I was making this card earlier it in the week, it wasn’t so pleasant – so I was inspired to use my new silhouette stamp set and make a lovey-dovey card with a cute couple snuggling under an umbrella.

Silhouette Scenes | kelly kent

The stamp set is Silhouette Scenes from the 2019-2020 Annual Catalogue.  It’s fast becoming one of my favourites!

To create the silhouette, I set the stamp up on my Stamparatus, inked the whole stamp using Seaside Spray ink and stamped this directly onto the DSP.  I then reinked in Blueberry Bushel ink (without cleaning the stamp) and stamped again.  And then again in Night of Navy.  The final layer was Versamark (clean your stamp first) with clear embossing powder.  This gave the silhouette a gorgeous dewy look.

Silhouette Scenes | kelly kent

Stamping on DSP is something I never think to do – but for this card, it seemed perfect!  The ripped edge added a bit of texture to an otherwise plain layout.

The Smoky Slate background is embossed using the Subtle embossing folder – another favourite of mine!

Silhouette Scenes | kelly kent

The sentiment is a simple ‘love’ from the Well Written Dies using 5 layers of cardstock – one Night of Navy and four Whisper White.  I love how deluxe all those layers look!!!

Silhouette Scenes | kelly kent

The hearts on the card are from a retired pack of enamel shapes I have.  I use lots of my craft supplies but for some reason I seem to collect embellishments.  So, I’m on a mission this year to use them on my cards.  Of course I’ll still buy new ones too, so there should be lots of embellishing going on!!!


We’d love to see your seasonal card.  Show us what the weather looks like where you live (can you imagine the potential for some gorgeous scrapbooking pages!!!) or share a project that features your favourite season.  Click here to visit the Just Add Ink blog where you can upload your creation and see all the design team projects.

Hope the weather where you live is just perfect this week!


Product List

One thought on “Just Add Ink #465 | The Season

  1. Aww, this card is so sweet! I love the ombre effect on the couple, and the little hearts are a fabulous finishing touch. I need to remind myself to use my embellishments too!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.