CASEing the Catty #236 | Love, Thanks & Support

The calendar tells me it’s Sunday today but it’s school holidays here so I really have no idea!  It’s slow mornings, family fun and endless food around here!

We started a 1000 piece puzzle yesterday – which has been lots of fun!  It’s terribly addictive but the perfect activity for the wet weather days.

Since it is actually Sunday, it’s time to share a project for CASEing the Catty.  The theme this week is the Love, Thanks & Support section of the Annual Catalogue – pages 72-97.

No photo description available.

Pick any photo from these pages and share your twist.  Change the colours, use the layout, be inspired by the technique – there’s endless ways to be creative with the catalogue as your starting point.   Please share your creation in our Facebook group – we love seeing what you’re making.

I’ve used a mish mash of inspiration from this section – the colours of one card, the stamp set of another and the layout of a third.

CTC#236 Inspiration | kelly kent

The colours are Whisper White, Rococo Rose, Crushed Curry & Old Olive.  The stamp set is Healing Hugs and the layout uses tone-on-tone Stitched Lace die as the background with the floral centrepiece on top.

Healing Hugs | kelly kent

The Stitched Lace Die is becoming one of my favourites.  I usually avoid fussy dies because they are a pain to cut.  But….through a combination of recommendations by other demonstrators, I have discovered for my Big Shot that the following ‘sandwich’ works the best –

Bottom – top: Magnetic Platform, Precision Plate, Die (cutting side up), cardstock, Cutting Plate.

It needs to go through a couple of times but the pieces all come out quite easily.  I give it a brush with the Take Your Pick Die Brush while the cardstock is still in the die and then I poke out the stubborn bits with a paper piercer.  Once all the pieces are out I gently ease the cardstock away from the die.

Healing Hugs | kelly kent

For this card I’ve used the edge die that comes with the Stitched Lace Die to create the scalloped edge.  Make sure you use a bit of washi tape to keep the die in place while you run it through your die cutting machine.

Healing Hugs | kelly kent

The sentiment for this card is from the Seaside Notions stamp set. Sadly I’ve needed too many sympathy cards lately – my friends are hurting, so I’m sending lots of paper hugs out.


There’s more wonderful creations to visit on this blog hop.  Click on next to visit my lovely friend Lauren Meiklejohn to see her gorgeous take on the catalogue.

Thanks for hopping with us.  I hope your week is wonderful!


Product List

9 thoughts on “CASEing the Catty #236 | Love, Thanks & Support

  1. I wish everyone would stop making stunning cards using this die! It wasn’t on my list but might end up on there soon! I really love the white lace on white background look. Subtle but elegant and perfect for your thinking of you card.

  2. the double flowers in these colours are perfect on the white on white. Stunning inspiration. Thankyou.

  3. Such a beautiful card is bound to help heal a heart, so sorry you’ve been needing these so much lately.

  4. Beautiful card, Kelly and sure to bring comfort. Thanks for the tips on using the Stitched Lace die, too. x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.