Just Add Ink #443 | Choose Two – Colouring & Sequins

Every time I design for Just Add Ink I think about how much I love the variety of challenges!  I can’t pin down a favourite but I always love the creativity that comes from a “Choose Two” challenge.

This week it’s a choice of embossing paste, colouring or sequins!

Image may contain: text

As always, I could have gone in so many different directions with this theme.  I was tempted to dig my unnecessarily unloved embossing paste out, but in the end decided on colouring and sequins for a shaker card.

Piece of Cake Shaker Card | kelly kent

When Stampin’ Up! added rectangle framelits, I knew I was going to love them!  They make everything pretty and shaker cards an absolute ‘piece of cake’.

Piece of Cake Shaker Card | kelly kent

I started by repeatedly stamping the candles across the bottom of the card base and coloured them with Stampin’ Blends – Daffodil Delight, Flirty Flamingo, Bermuda Bay & Granny Apple Green.  I chose these colours based on the DSP spots.

Piece of Cake Shaker Card | kelly kent

The frame was cut using two rectangle framelits (2 sizes apart) and backed with Window Sheet.  To create the depth ready for my shaker sequins, I lined the back with a border of Foam Adhesive Strips and adhered it to a piece of How Sweet It Is DSP cut 1/4″ bigger than the frame size.

And then finished it off with a pretty drip cake and more candles from the Piece of Cake bundle. I love the variety of cakes and embellishments in the stamp set.  And being able to cut it out with a punch is great for saving time and having a beautiful neat finish.  I don’t mind fussy cutting, but give me a punch any day!

Piece of Cake Shaker Card | kelly kent

This bundle is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!  So amazing in fact that it’s almost sold out in Australia and once current stocks have been depleted, it won’t be orderable again til new stock arrives in mid-late March.  If you haven’t already added it to your collection, I suggest a quick little order!  Click here to view in my online store.

Piece of Cake Shaker Card | kelly kent

If you still haven’t ordered Rectangle Framelits (WHAT???), you can add those from the online store too.  Click here to visit.  Then you can make as many easy-peasy shaker cards as you’d like.  Full supply list at the end of this post in case you need other products too like foam adhesive strips & window sheets.


We’d love to see what this challenge inspires you to make.  Head over to the Just Add Ink blog to upload your entry and see the full range of design team cards.

Thanks for being a fabulous part of Just Add Ink!  We appreciate having such a diverse following!


Product List

5 thoughts on “Just Add Ink #443 | Choose Two – Colouring & Sequins

  1. Gorgeous card Kelly! I too am in love with those stitched rectangles – love them paired with your cake and sequin shaker card, such fun! Love the candle border detail too – helps tie in with your fabulous birthday cake beautifully. A fun challenge this week!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.